Safety Contribution Charge and Fees

The Authority's supervision with civil aviation is financed via fees and charges.

Issue fees are paid for approvals and licences etc. and safety contributions are paid per passenger departing from airports in Denmark, including the Faroe Islands and Greenland, to cover the expenses in connection with the continuous supervision.

Safety Contribution Charge

The safety contribution finances the Danish Civil Aviation and Railway Authority’s supervision with civil aviation.

Air air operators shall pay the safety contribution charge when departing from a Danish airport, the use of which is open to the public. The safety contribution is charged for every passenger travelling, except for passengers below the age of 2, transit and transfer passengers, and airline staff on duty. The charge is applicable for transport with aircraft approved for more than 10 passenger seats or with a maximum take-off mass of more than 5,700 kg.

The safety contribution charge was introduced in Denmark in 2013, in the Faroe Islands in 2016, and in Greenland in 2018.

The rate is regulated annually in accordance with § 148 of the Danish Air Navigation Act.

Current and past rates can be found in the documents to the right.


Order no. 1486/2018 on fees and charges applies to Denmark, the Faroe Islands, and Greenland.

Last updated 21-02-2024